WRITING

Is Writer’s Block a Myth or Painful Reality? Curious Minds Want to Know

The way we talk about writing may be causing an artificial block

Allison Wiltz
5 min readMar 14, 2022

--

Photo by Katrin Hauf on Unsplash

So, lately, I started doubting writer’s block exists. And while many writers have discussed their experiences with writer’s block, I’m not entirely convinced it’s a real thing. The term “writer’s block” implies that the writer is willing, but they can’t think of anything to write for some reason. While I don’t always have time to write, I would argue that I’ve never experienced writer’s block. When I have time, I can brainstorm and write, but when I can’t, then I don’t. But, either way, I don’t remember feeling blocked.

When inspired, words seem to flow effortlessly, like water falling from a tall cliff. But when stymied, each word can feel labor-intensive, like rolling a stone up a hill.

If writer’s block is a myth, then editors and fellow writers need to know, so they can use different terms to discuss the challenges we experience. For instance, instead of saying “I had writer’s block,” a writer could say “I didn’t feel like writing” or “I didn’t have time to write.” At this point, you may be saying, “But, I stared…

--

--

Allison Wiltz

Black womanist Scholar bylines @ Momentum, Oprah Daily, ZORA, GEN, EIC of Cultured #WEOC Founder allisonthedailywriter.com https://ko-fi.com/allyfromnola